Service acceptance SEAC


Managing the process to obtain formal confirmation that service acceptance criteria have been met.

Guidance notes


Service acceptance criteria are used to ensure that a service meets the defined service requirements, including functionality, operational support, performance and quality requirements. Acceptance criteria includes both utility/functional and  warranty/non-functional tests.

Activities may include - but are not limited to...

  • engaging with a variety stakeholders and delivery life-cycle activities such as - but not limited to -  external service providers, technical design, software development and project management
  • ensuring the service provider is ready to operate the new service when it has been deployed.

Service acceptance: Level 6


Owns the transition process, develops the organisation's approach and defines the acceptance criteria for service transition. Promotes and monitors project quality outputs to ensure they are fit for purpose and fit for use within operational service. Actively engages with stakeholders to promote awareness and compliance with service transition quality plans and processes. Agrees the service acceptance criteria with delivery teams.

Service acceptance: Level 5


Engages with delivery teams to ensure correct products are produced, in a timely fashion. Evaluates the quality of project outputs against agreed service acceptance criteria.

Service acceptance: Level 4


Engages with delivery teams to confirm that products developed meet the service acceptance criteria and are to the required standard. Feeds into change management processes.