The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Network design NTDS

Designing communication networks to support strategic and operational requirements and producing network strategies, architectures, policies and related documentation.

Guidance notes

Network design covers all aspects of the communications infrastructure including — but not limited to — networks that are wired or wireless, digital or analogue, virtual or physical, local area, wide area, mobile/cellular and any other defined protocols and scales of operation.


Defined at these levels: 3 4 5 6

Network design: Levels 1-2

This skill is not typically observed when working at these levels of responsibility.

Network design: Level 3

Specifies the technical configurations and components required for a small network or a network segment in a more complex infrastructure.

Follows organisational architectures and standards.

Network design: Level 4

Designs specific network components using agreed architectures, design standards, patterns and methodology.

Translates logical designs into physical designs that meet specified operational parameters for capacity and performance.

Reviews and verifies network designs against non-functional requirements, including validation and error correction procedures, access, security and audit controls.

Contributes to the development of recovery routines and contingency procedures. Contributes to alternative network architectures, networking topologies and design options.

Network design: Level 5

Produces, or approves network providers', network architectures, topologies and configuration databases for own area of responsibility.

Specifies design parameters for network connectivity, capacity, speed, interfacing, security and access, in line with business requirements.

Assesses network-related risks and specifies recovery routines and contingency procedures.

Creates multiple design views to address the different stakeholders' concerns and to handle both functional and non-functional requirements.

Network design: Level 6

Takes responsibility for major aspects of network specification, standards, technologies and overall network design models within the organisation.

Produces network design policies, principles and criteria covering connectivity, capacity, interfacing, security, resilience, recovery and access.

Network design: Level 7

This skill is not typically observed when working at this level of responsibility.