Safety assessment SFAS


Assessing safety-related software and hardware systems to determine compliance with standards and required levels of safety integrity.

Guidance notes


Activities may include - but are not limited to...

  • making professional judgements on software and hardware engineering approaches
  • assessing the suitability of design, testing, and validation and verification methods,
  • identifying and evaluating risks and how they can be reduced
  • establishing, maintaining and managing a safety assessment framework and practices
  • using techniques such as failure modes effects analysis, hazard and operability studies, component failure impact analysis, fault tree analysis, event tree analysis, failure modes effects and criticality analysis

Safety assessment: Level 6


Leads safety assessments according to organisational safety policies and standards.

Champions and promotes safety practices in the organisation. Defines and implements organisational policies and standards for system safety assessment.

Assures compliance with defined standards and policies and oversees overall safety life cycle assessment activities.

Safety assessment: Level 5


Participates in system safety assessments.

Undertakes safety analyses using agreed techniques to verify or validate that safety requirements are implemented.

Develops assessment/analysis findings report and recommends/define/establish how system's safety requirements can be satisfied.

Safety assessment: Level 4


Collects safety assurance evidence using appropriate methods and tools. Undertakes all work in accordance with agreed safety, technical and quality standards.