The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Quality management QUMG


Defining and operating a management framework of processes and working practices to deliver the organisation's quality objectives.

SFIA 9 is in development

  • SFIA 9 beta due in early July 2024
  • SFIA 9 planned for publication October 2024

This is a prototype for SFIA 9. It is subject to change before publication.

Guidance notes


Activities may include — but are not limited to:

  • establishing a quality management system and a quality culture
  • applying techniques for the monitoring and improving the quality of any aspect of a function, processes, products, services or data
  • providing advice on the application of appropriate quality management techniques
  • achieving and maintaining compliance to, national and international standards and to internal policies.

Internal or external standards are typically related to areas such as — but not limited to — quality, service, sustainability and security.


Defined at these levels: 3 4 5 6 7

Quality management: Levels 1-2

This skill is not typically observed when working at these levels of responsibility.

Quality management: Level 3


Uses appropriate methods and a systematic approach to developing, maintaining, controlling and distributing quality and environmental standards.

Makes technical changes to and controls the updates and distribution of quality standards.

Distributes new and revised standards.

Quality management: Level 4


Assists in the development of new or improved practices and organisational processes or standards.

Assists projects, functions or teams in planning the quality management for their area of responsibility.

Facilitates localised improvements to the quality system or services.

Quality management: Level 5


Ensures that projects, teams and functions have appropriate practices in place and are meeting required organisational quality levels.

Advises on the application of appropriate quality management techniques and standards.

Determines areas where existing processes should change from analysing audit findings. Facilitates improvements to processes by changing approaches and working practices, typically using recognised models.

Takes responsibility for controlling updating and distributing organisational standards.

Quality management: Level 6


Achieves and maintains compliance against national and international standards, as appropriate.

Prioritises areas for quality improvement by considering strategy, business objectives and results from internal and external audits. Initiates the application of appropriate quality management techniques in these areas.

Initiates improvements to processes by changing approaches and working practices, typically using recognised models.

Identifies and plans systematic corrective action to reduce errors and improve the quality of the systems and services.

Quality management: Level 7


Determines the quality strategy and secures commitment to it from executive leadership.

Develops policies for approval and adoption by organisational management. Ensures that adequate technology, procedures and resources are in place to support the quality system.

Plans and monitors the performance of the quality management system and the internal quality audit schedule.

Determines the extent to which quality policies and quality systems meet organisational needs and reviews as necessary.