The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Quality assurance QUAS


Assuring, through ongoing and periodic assessments and reviews, that the organisation’s quality objectives are being met.

SFIA 9 is in development

  • SFIA 9 beta due in early July 2024
  • SFIA 9 planned for publication October 2024

This is a prototype for SFIA 9. It is subject to change before publication.

Moving to SFIA 9

There is an updated version of this skill for SFIA 9.

  • New level 2 added to support entry-level roles
  • SFIA 8 skill descriptions will remain available for you to use
  • Previous SFIA assessments are not impacted by this change

Guidance notes


Quality assurance provides confidence to internal and external stakeholders that quality requirements will be fulfilled.

Quality assurance may relate to any area where quality standards are applied including — but not limited to — products, data, services and business processes.

Quality assurance findings and reports may provide evidence and recommendations for quality improvement programmes. 


Defined at these levels: 2 3 4 5 6

Quality assurance: Level 1

Quality assurance: Level 2


Assists with quality assurance tasks under routine supervision.

Supports the collection of data and evidence related to quality assurance.

Assists in reviewing records to ensure compliance with quality standards.

Helps identify and report quality issues and discrepancies.

Quality assurance: Level 3


Contributes to the collection of evidence and the conduct of formal audits or reviews of activities.

Examines records for evidence that appropriate testing and other quality control activities have taken place.

Determines compliance with organisational directives, standards and procedures and identifies non-compliances, non-conformances and abnormal occurrences.

Quality assurance: Level 4


Plans, organises and conducts assessment activity and determines whether appropriate quality control has been applied.

Conducts formal assessments or reviews for given domain areas, suppliers, or parts of the supply chain. Collates, collects and examines records, analyses the evidence and drafts all or part of formal compliance reports.

Determines the risks associated with findings and non-compliance and proposes corrective actions.

Provides advice and guidance in the use of organisational standards.

Quality assurance: Level 5


Plans, organises and conducts formal reviews and assessments of complex domains areas, cross-functional areas, and across the supply chain.

Evaluates, appraises and identifies non-compliances with organisational standards and determines the underlying reasons for non-compliance.

Prepares and reports on assessment findings and associated risks. Ensures that appropriate owners for corrective actions are identified. Identifies opportunities to improve organisational control mechanisms.

Oversees the assurance activities of others, providing advice and expertise to support assurance activity.

Quality assurance: Level 6


Leads, develops and is accountable for an organisational approach and commitment to quality assurance.

Ensures that quality assurance processes and activities are robust and reliable, and appropriately tailored to the organisation’s quality objectives. Plans and resources the organisational quality assurance activities, using internal or third-party resources.

Considers the implications of emerging technology, approaches, trends, regulations and legislation.

Monitors and reports on quality assurance activities, levels of compliance, and improvement opportunities.

Quality assurance: Level 7

New level