The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Service acceptance SEAC


Managing the process to obtain formal confirmation that service acceptance criteria have been met.

SFIA 9 is in development

  • SFIA 9 beta due in early July 2024
  • SFIA 9 planned for publication October 2024

This is a prototype for SFIA 9. It is subject to change before publication.

Guidance notes


Service acceptance criteria are used to ensure that a service meets the defined service requirements, including functionality, operational support, performance, safety, security and quality requirements. Acceptance criteria include both utility/functional and  warranty/non-functional tests.

Activities may include — but are not limited to:

  • engaging with a variety of stakeholders and delivery life-cycle activities such as — but not limited to — external service providers, technical design, software development and project management
  • implementing service acceptance practices to support iterative/agile working
  • ensuring the service provider is ready to operate the new service when it has been deployed.


Defined at these levels: 3 4 5 6

Service acceptance: Levels 1-2

This skill is not typically observed when working at these levels of responsibility.

Service acceptance: Level 3


Applies standard service acceptance criteria and participates in service acceptance testing.

Collaborates with delivery teams to ensure that service deliverables meet the required standards.

Documents and communicates the outcomes of service acceptance activities.

Identifies and reports issues or non-conformances, assisting with their resolution.

Service acceptance: Level 4


Engages with delivery teams to confirm that products developed meet the service acceptance criteria and are to the required standard.

Provides input into change control processes.

Service acceptance: Level 5


Engages with delivery teams to ensure correct products are produced in a timely fashion.

Evaluates the quality of project outputs against agreed service acceptance criteria.

Service acceptance: Level 6


Develops the organisation's approach for service acceptance, owns the transition process and defines the acceptance criteria for service transitions.

Promotes and monitors project quality outputs to ensure they are fit for purpose and fit for use within operational services.

Actively engages with stakeholders to promote awareness and compliance with service transition quality plans and processes.

Agrees the service acceptance criteria with delivery teams.

Service acceptance: Level 7

This skill is not typically observed when working at this level of responsibility.

New level