The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Sustainability SUST


Providing advice, assistance and leadership to enable the organisation to minimise negative environmental impact.

SFIA 9 is in development

  • SFIA 9 beta due in early July 2024
  • SFIA 9 planned for publication October 2024

This is a prototype for SFIA 9. It is subject to change before publication.

Guidance notes


Activities may include — but are not limited to:

  • developing policies, standards and guidelines to minimise the negative environmental impact of factors such as — but not limited to — hardware, software, networks, storage, power supply, care, maintenance and disposal of assets, paper, packaging or transport
  • advising on regulations and standards
  • benchmarking and establishing metrics and dashboards
  • communicating and promoting sustainability policies and programmes.


Defined at these levels: 4 5 6

Sustainability: Level 1

Sustainability: Level 2

Sustainability: Level 3

Sustainability: Level 4


Assesses and reports on how different tactical decisions affect sustainability.

Evaluates factors and risks (political, legislative, technological, economic, social) that impact on operational processes and strategic direction.

Evaluates and reports on the implementation of sustainability measures in specific areas.

Sustainability: Level 5


Provides expert advice and guidance on planning, designing and implementing sustainability solutions.

Evaluates and selects sustainability methods, tools, and practices to be used in line with agreed policies and standards.

Identifies and recommends improvements to the organisation's approach to sustainability.

Sustainability: Level 6


Develops and promotes organisational strategies, policies, standards, and guidelines for sustainability.

Leads the introduction and use of sustainability techniques, methodologies and tools.

Sustainability: Level 7