The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Learning and professional development

Continuous acquisition and application of knowledge and skills.

This is a prototype for SFIA 9. It is subject to change before publication.

Guidance notes

This encompasses the ongoing process of enhancing one's skills and knowledge. It's not just about formal education but includes experiential learning, self-directed study, and professional growth activities.

Effective learning and development in the workplace requires a commitment to continuous improvement and adaptability. As professionals advance, their role in learning evolves from personal skill enhancement to fostering an organisational culture of learning and development.

Learning and professional development in the SFIA framework represent a progression from personal skill development and knowledge acquisition at lower levels to leading and inspiring a culture of learning and growth at higher levels. This evolution underscores the importance of continuous learning for professional growth and organisational success.

Level 1 - Follow

  • Applies newly acquired knowledge to develop new skills. Contributes to identifying own development opportunities. 

Level 2 - Assist

  • Recognises personal skills and knowledge gaps and seeks learning opportunities to address them. Absorbs and applies new information to tasks.

Level 3 - Apply

  • Applies newly acquired knowledge to develop new skills. Contributes to identifying own development opportunities. 

Level 4 - Enable

  • Rapidly absorbs and critically assesses new information and applies it effectively.
  • Maintains an awareness of emerging practices and their application and takes responsibility for driving own and team members’ development opportunities. 

Level 5 - Ensure, advise

  • Imparts their knowledge to help to define the standards which others will apply.
  • Takes the initiative to develop a wider breadth of knowledge across industry and/or business and identify and manage development opportunities in area of responsibility.

Level 6 - Initiate, influence

  • Promotes the application of knowledge to support strategic imperatives.
  • Takes the initiative to develop executive leadership capability and leads the development of skills required in their area of accountability.

Level 7 - Set strategy, inspire, mobilise

  • Ensures the organisation develops and mobilises the full range of required skills and capabilities.
  • Inspires a learning culture to align with business objectives.   
  • Maintains an understanding and awareness of contemporary and emerging industry landscapes.