The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Learning design and development TMCR


Designing and developing resources to transfer knowledge, develop skills and change behaviours.

SFIA 9 is in development

  • SFIA 9 beta due in early July 2024
  • SFIA 9 planned for publication October 2024

This is a prototype for SFIA 9. It is subject to change before publication.

Moving to SFIA 9

  • New level 2 added to support entry-level roles
  • SFIA 8 skill descriptions will remain available for you to use
  • Previous SFIA assessments are not impacted by this change

Guidance notes


Includes instructional design, content development, configuration and testing of learning environments, and use of appropriate current technologies such as audio, video, simulation and assessment.

Scope includes learning and development activities for the workplace, for all levels of education and blended models such as apprenticeships and work placements.

Activities may include, but are not limited to:

  • specifying, designing, creating, packaging and maintaining materials and resources
  • assimilating information from existing sources
  • selecting and presenting material in a form suitable to the intended purpose and audience
  • securing third-party accreditation
  • creating simulated data, replicating external systems, interfaces and assessment systems for simulated learning environments.

Understanding the responsibility levels of this skill

Where lower levels are not defined...

  • Specific tasks and responsibilities are not defined because the skill requires a higher level of autonomy, influence, and complexity in decision-making than is typically expected at these levels. You can use the essence statements to understand the generic responsibilities associated with these levels.

Where higher levels are not defined...

  • Responsibilities and accountabilities are not defined because these higher levels involve strategic leadership and broader organisational influence that goes beyond the scope of this specific skill. See the essence statements.

Developing skills and demonstrating responsibilities related to this skill

The defined levels show the incremental progression in skills and reponsibilities.

Where lower levels are not defined...

You can develop your knowledge and support others who do have responsibility in this area by:

  • Learning key concepts and principles related to this skill and its impact on your role
  • Performing related skills (see the related SFIA skills)
  • Supporting others with tasks (generic examples are provided by the essence statements for each level)

Where higher levels are not defined...

  • You can progress by developing related skills which are better suited to higher levels of organisational leadership.


Defined at these levels: 2 3 4 5

Show/hide extra descriptions and levels.

Level 1

Level 1 - Follow: Essence of the level: Performs routine tasks under close supervision, follows instructions, and requires guidance to complete their work. Learns and applies basic skills and knowledge.

Learning design and development: Level 2

Level 2 - Assist: Essence of the level: Provides assistance to others, works under routine supervision, and uses their discretion to address routine problems. Actively learns through training and on-the-job experiences.


Assists with learning design and development tasks under routine supervision.

Supports the creation and maintenance of learning materials and resources.

Helps document and organise learning content and environments.

Learning design and development: Level 3

Level 3 - Apply: Essence of the level: Performs varied tasks, sometimes complex and non-routine, using standard methods and procedures. Works under general direction, exercises discretion, and manages own work within deadlines. Proactively enhances skills and impact in the workplace.


Designs, creates, customises and maintains learning materials and resources to deliver agreed outcomes, and meet accreditation requirements when appropriate.

Contributes to the design, configuration and testing of learning environments.

Learning design and development: Level 4

Level 4 - Enable: Essence of the level: Performs diverse complex activities, supports and supervises others, works autonomously under general direction, and contributes expertise to deliver team objectives.


Specifies the content and structure of learning and development materials.

Takes responsibility for design, creation, packaging and maintenance and manages development to deliver agreed outcomes.

Where required, designs, configures and tests learning environments.

Secures external accreditations as appropriate.

Learning design and development: Level 5

Level 5 - Ensure, advise: Essence of the level: Provides authoritative guidance in their field and works under broad direction. Accountable for achieving workgroup objectives and managing work from analysis to execution and evaluation.


Specifies solutions for use in learning and development programs in the workplace or in compulsory, further or higher education.

Commissions the development of learning materials, allocates resources to learning teams, defines learning outcomes.

Leads learning programs, recommends and specifies learning interventions for design, development and deployment according to agreed learning outcomes.

Level 6

Level 6 - Initiate, influence: Essence of the level: Has significant organisational influence, makes high-level decisions, shapes policies, demonstrates leadership, fosters organizational collaboration, and accepts accountability in key areas.

Level 7

Level 7 - Set strategy, inspire, mobilise: Essence of the level: Operates at the highest organisational level, determines overall organisational vision and strategy, and assumes accountability for overall success.

New level