The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Knowledge management KNOW


Managing vital knowledge to create value for the organisation.

SFIA 9 is in development

  • SFIA 9 beta due in early July 2024
  • SFIA 9 planned for publication October 2024

Guidance notes


Knowledge management aims to improve performance, support decision-making and mitigate risks. 

Activities may include — but are not limited to:

  • systematically capturing, sharing, developing and exploiting the collective knowledge of the organisation
  • tailoring knowledge management approaches
  • developing a supportive and collaborative knowledge sharing culture to drive the successful adoption of technology solutions for knowledge management
  • providing access to informal, tacit knowledge as well as formal, documented, explicit knowledge
  • facilitating internal and external collaboration and communications
  • establishing and supporting communities of practice
  • capturing, organising and developing information, knowledge and stories from employees, customers and external partners
  • external benchmarking.


Defined at these levels: 2 3 4 5 6 7

Knowledge management: Level 1

Knowledge management: Level 2


Maintains a knowledge management database.

Leverages knowledge of a specialism to capture and classify content, taking expert advice when required.

Knowledge management: Level 3


Maintains knowledge management systems and content to meet business needs.

Supports others to enable them to complete knowledge management activities and form knowledge management habits. Supports changes to work practices to support capture and use of knowledge.

Reports on the progress of knowledge management activities.

Configures and develops knowledge management systems and standards.

Knowledge management: Level 4


Organises knowledge assets and oversees the life cycle of identifying, capturing, classifying, storing, and maintaining assets.

Facilitates sharing, collaboration and communication of knowledge. Implements specific knowledge management initiatives.

Monitors the use and impact of knowledge.

Interrogates existing knowledge content to identify issues, risks, and opportunities.

Knowledge management: Level 5


Develops and implements knowledge management processes and behaviours.

Provides advice, guidance, and support to help people to adopt and embed knowledge management. Contributes to the definition of policies, standards, and guidelines for knowledge management.

Evaluates and selects knowledge management methods and tools. Promotes collaborative technologies, processes and behaviours to facilitate sharing of ideas and work-knowledge.

Shares ideas and examples of existing practices. Implements knowledge management at programme, project and team level.

Knowledge management: Level 6


Develops organisational policies, standards, and guidelines for knowledge management.

Champions and leads in the development of an organisational knowledge management approach. Shares different approaches for knowledge sharing across communities of practice, business units, and networks.

Promotes knowledge-sharing through operational business processes and systems. Monitors and evaluates knowledge-sharing initiatives.

Manages reviews of the benefits and value of knowledge management. Identifies and recommends improvements.

Knowledge management: Level 7


Develops an organisation-wide knowledge management strategy and leads the creation of a knowledge management culture.

Embeds knowledge management across business units and develops strategic knowledge management capabilities.

Reinforces the importance of knowledge sharing by aligning individual and organisational objectives and rewards.

Identifies opportunities for strategic relationships or partnerships with customers, suppliers, and partners.