The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Continuity management COPL

The provision of service continuity planning and support, as part of, or in close cooperation with, the function which plans business continuity for the whole organisation. The identification of information systems which support critical business processes. The assessment of risks to critical systems' availability, integrity and confidentiality. The co-ordination of planning, designing, testing and maintenance procedures and contingency plans to address exposures and maintain agreed levels of continuity.

Moving to SFIA 8

There is an updated version of this skill for SFIA 8.

  • Informed by the review of SFIA in the context of information and cyber security and the US government NIST cybersecurity framework
  • 3 new levels added:
    • New level 6 reflects the importance for leadership and and strategy in this area
    • New levels 2 and 3 to reflect lower level operational responsibilities and activities
  • The skill descriptions have been edited for readability and guidance notes have been added
  • Details available here - SFIA 8 Continuity management
  • SFIA 7 skill descriptions will remain available for you to use
  • Previous SFIA assessments may be impacted by this change.


Defined at these levels: 4 5

Continuity management: Levels 1-3

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at these levels of responsibility and accountability.

Continuity management: Level 4

Implements and contributes to the development of a continuity management plan. Coordinates the assessment of risks to the availability, integrity and confidentiality of systems that support critical business processes. Coordinates the planning, designing, and testing of maintenance procedures and contingency plans.

Continuity management: Level 5

Leads the development and implementation of a continuity management plan. Identifies information and communication systems that support the critical business processes and manages the relationship with specialists with authority for those systems. Evaluates the critical risks associated with systems operation and identifies priority areas for improvement. Designs and implements a testing strategy to ensure that continuity plans and procedures address exposure to risk and that agreed levels of continuity are maintained.

Continuity management: Levels 6-7

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at these levels of responsibility and accountability.