The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

User experience design HCEV

The process of iterative design to enhance user satisfaction by improving the usability and accessibility provided when interacting with a system, product or service. The design of users’ digital and offline tasks, interactions and interfaces to meet usability and accessibility requirements. The refinement of designs in response to user-centred evaluation and feedback and communication of the design to those responsible for design, development and implementation.

Moving to SFIA 8 

There is an updated version of this skill for SFIA 8. 

  • SFIA 7 skill descriptions will remain available for you to use 
  • Previous SFIA assessments are not impacted by this change. 


Defined at these levels: 3 4 5 6

User experience design: Levels 1-2

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at these levels of responsibility and accountability.

User experience design: Level 3

Applies tools and methods to design and develop users' digital and off-line tasks, interactions and interfaces to meet agreed usability and accessibility requirements for selected system, product or service components. Creates workable prototypes. Assists, as part of a team, on overall user experience design. Assists in the evaluation of design options and trade-offs. Consistently applies visual design and branding guidelines.

User experience design: Level 4

Designs and develop users’ digital and off-line tasks, interaction and interfaces to meet agreed usability and accessibility requirements. Translates concepts into outputs and prototypes and captures user feedback to improve designs. Specifies appropriate tools, methods and design patterns. Evaluates alternative design options and recommends designs taking into account performance, usability and accessibility requirements. Interprets and follows visual design and branding guidelines to create consistent and impactful user experience.

User experience design: Level 5

Determines the approaches to be used to design and prototype digital and off-line tasks, interactions and interfaces in line with the usability and accessibility requirements of the system, product or service. Uses iterative approaches to rapidly incorporate user feedback into designs. Plans and drives user experience design activities providing expert advice and guidance to support adoption of agreed approaches. Integrates required visual design and branding into the user experience design activities.

User experience design: Level 6

Obtains organisational commitment to policies, standards, and strategies to deliver required usability, accessibility and security. Specifies user experience design standards and methods to meet organisational objectives for systems, products and services and combining digital and off-line experiences. Plans and leads user experience design activities for strategic, large and complex programmes.

User experience design: Level 7

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at this level of responsibility and accountability.