The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Quality assurance QUAS

The process of ensuring, through independent assessment and review, that appropriate working practices, quality control activities, organisational processes and quality standards are in place and adhered to and that best practices are promoted throughout the organisation. Quality assurance provides confidence to internal management and external bodies, such as customers or regulators, that quality requirements will be fulfilled. Quality assurance may relate to any area where quality standards are applied, including products, data, services and business processes.

Moving to SFIA 8 

There is an updated version of this skill for SFIA 8. 

  • The skill descriptions have been edited for readability and guidance notes have been added 
  • Details available here - SFIA 8 Quality assurance 
  • SFIA 7 skill descriptions will remain available for you to use 
  • Previous SFIA assessments are not impacted by this change. 


Defined at these levels: 3 4 5 6

Quality assurance: Levels 1-2

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at these levels of responsibility and accountability.

Quality assurance: Level 3

Contributes to the collection of evidence and the conduct of formal audits or reviews of activities, processes, data, products or services. Examines records for evidence that appropriate testing and other quality control activities have taken place and determines compliance with organisational directives, standards and procedures. Identifies non-compliances, non-conformances and abnormal occurrences.

Quality assurance: Level 4

Conducts formal audits or reviews to ensure compliance with organisational standards for activities, processes, data, products or services. For projects, development or support activities; plans, organises and conducts audits and determines whether appropriate quality control has been applied. Collates, collects and examines records, analyses the evidence and drafts all or part of formal compliance reports. Determines the risks associated with findings and non-compliance and proposes corrective actions.

Provides advice and guidance in the use of organisational standards. Performs quality assurance reviews of suppliers and throughout the supply chain.

Quality assurance: Level 5

Plans, organises and conducts formal independent audits of complex projects, major programmes or functional areas. Evaluates, appraises and identifies non-compliances with organisational standards, and determines whether appropriate quality control has been applied. Prepares and reports audit findings and determines the risks associated with those findings and ensures that corrective actions are carried out. Reviews and analyses audit reports to identify common areas of non-compliance and identifies opportunities to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the organisational control mechanisms. Performs audits throughout the supply chain. Plans and oversees the assurance activities of others.

Quality assurance: Level 6

Leads, develops and is accountable for an organisational approach and commitment to quality assurance. Ensures that quality assurance processes and activities are robust and based on industry best practice. Considers the implications of emerging technology, approaches, trends, regulations and legislation. Plans and resources the organisational quality assurance activities. Monitors and reports on quality assurance activities, levels of compliance and both organisational and project risks. Reviews and analyses results from audit activities and identifies improvement opportunities for the organisation.

Quality assurance: Level 7

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at this level of responsibility and accountability.