The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Quality assurance QUAS

The process of ensuring that the agreed quality standards within an organisation are adhered to and that best practice is promulgated throughout the organisation.


Defined at these levels: 3 4 5 6

Quality assurance: Levels 1-2

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at these levels of responsibility and accountability.

Quality assurance: Level 3

Uses appropriate methods and tools in the development, maintenance, control and distribution of quality and environmental standards. Makes technical changes to quality and environmental standards according to documented procedures. Distributes new and revised standards.

Quality assurance: Level 4

Investigates and documents the internal control of specified aspects of automated or partly automated processes, and assesses compliance with the relevant standard.

Quality assurance: Level 5

Uses quality standards to review past performance and plan future activities. Conducts audits of quality requirements and produces audit reports. Monitors and reports on the outputs from the quality assurance and audit processes.

Quality assurance: Level 6

Develops organisational commitment to ongoing quality and environmental improvement by ensuring that the quality assurance process is robust and is based on the best industry practice. Considers implications of emerging technological developments, economic and social trends, etc. Plans and resources periodic quality assurance audits. Conducts and/or manages audits of quality requirements, and analyses audit results, to ensure appropriate quality standards and operational definitions are in place. Prepares and delivers formal audit reports.

Quality assurance: Level 7

This skill is not typically observed or practiced at this level of responsibility and accountability.