The global skills and competency framework for the digital world
November 2021 - SFIA 8 update

November 2021 - SFIA 8 update

Updated mappings to industry frameworks and minor corrections to SFIA 8 documents

Minor errors in the SFIA 8 documentation. 

  • The documents have been corrected and the new versions are available here
  • Thanks to the members of the SFIA community who identified these errors.
  • Apologies for any inconvenience caused by these minor errors.

Updated SFIA mappings to industry frameworks

  • Service management
  • NIST
  • NICE

These mappings help framework users adopt SFIA and help SFIA users access the specialised knowledge in these frameworks.

Service management

COBIT 2019

 US government NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF).

  • Mapping of SFIA 8 skills to the 23 categories and 108 sub-categories in the NIST CSF
  • An initial mapping was done to identify potential improvements for SFIA 8
  • SFIA 8 provided a number of enhancements to support cybersecurity workforce initiatives, including:
  • additional cybersecurity-related skills - such as Vulnerability assessment, Threat intelligence, Vulnerability research
  • additional skill level descriptions for cybersecurity-related skills
  • the information and cyber security view of the SFIA framework
  • enhanced readability across the entire SFIA framework including guidance notes and concise skill descriptions

US Government NICE Cybersecurity Workforce Framework

Bodies of knowledge