The UK Government Digital Service has published 137 digital, data and technology (DDaT) roles in support of digital transformation along with illustrative 'career paths' and 'employment stories'.

The UK public sector has been a long-term user of the SFIA Framework and three of the largest departments, MoD, HMRC, and DWP have mapped the SFIA skills to DDaT roles using SFIA 6 which had specific updates to address digital transformation.

For SFIA 7 - we updated the framework to reflect current views on digital transformation skills.

  • SFIA users within the public sector have asked for further information about such mappings and having it updated for SFIA 7.
  • Specifically they wish to see their public sector roles mapped to the most commonly used private sector skills framework. 

The SFIA Foundation has undertaken this illustrative mapping inspired by the work of MoD, HMRC and DWP and bringing it up to date with SFIA 7. John Godsell (SFIA Accredited Consultant) carried out this mapping. 

With the very significant costs associated with the update of any framework, the SFIA Foundation will continue to look at the DDaT to ensure that subsequent versions of SFIA continue to address the needs of digital transformation.

We will refine and update the mappings to reflect practice from DDaT usage and the inclusion of additional skills where appropriate.

For further information, please contact the .

This mapping comprises four components:

  • DDaT SFIA Role Mappings Summary Excel
  • DDaT and SFIA Commentary - to be published
  • DDaT Cluster and Role Mapping Summary - to be published
  • DDaT - SFIA Detailed Mappings - to be published