The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Levels of responsibility: Level 6

The new version of SFIA is now live.

View the SFIA 8 Levels of responsibility here. 


Has defined authority and accountability for actions and decisions within a significant area of work, including technical, financial and quality aspects. Establishes organisational objectives and assigns responsibilities.


Influences policy and strategy formation. Initiates influential relationships with internal and external customers, suppliers and partners at senior management level, including industry leaders. Makes decisions which impact the work of employing organisations, achievement of organisational objectives and financial performance.


Has a broad business understanding and deep understanding of own specialism(s). Performs highly complex work activities covering technical, financial and quality aspects. Contributes to the implementation of policy and strategy. Creatively applies a wide range of technical and/or management principles.


Promotes the application of generic and specific bodies of knowledge in own organisation. Has developed business knowledge of the activities and practices of own organisation and those of suppliers, partners, competitors and clients.

Business skills

Demonstrates clear leadership. Communicates effectively at all levels to both technical and non-technical audiences.

Understands the implications of new technologies. Understands and communicates industry developments, and the role and impact of technology in the employing organisation. Absorbs complex information.

Promotes compliance with relevant legislation and the need for services, products and working practices to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities.

Takes the initiative to keep both own and colleagues' skills up to date. 

Manages and mitigates risk.

Takes a leading role in promoting security throughout own area of responsibilities and collectively in the organisations.