The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Levels of responsibility: Level 3

The new version of SFIA is now live.

View the SFIA 8 Levels of responsibility here. 


Works under general direction. Uses discretion in identifying and responding to complex issues and assignments. Receives specific direction, accepts guidance and has work reviewed at agreed milestones. Determines when issues should be escalated to a higher level.


Interacts with and influences colleagues. Has working level contact with customers, suppliers and partners. May supervise others or make decisions which impact the work assigned to individuals or phases of projects. Understands and collaborates on the analysis of user/customer needs and represents this in their work.


Performs a range of work, sometimes complex and non-routine, in a variety of environments. Applies methodical approach to issue definition and resolution.


Has a sound generic, domain and specialist knowledge necessary to perform effectively in the organisation typically gained from recognised bodies of knowledge and organisational information. Demonstrates effective application of knowledge. Has an appreciation of the wider business context. Takes action to develop own knowledge.

Business skills

Demonstrates effective communication skills.

Plans, schedules and monitors own work (and that of others where applicable) competently within limited deadlines and according to relevant legislation, standards and procedures.

Contributes fully to the work of teams. Appreciates how own role relates to other roles and to the business of the employer or client.

Demonstrates an analytical and systematic approach to issue resolution.

Takes the initiative in identifying and negotiating appropriate personal development opportunities.

Understands how own role impacts security and demonstrates routine security practice and knowledge required for own work.