The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Levels of responsibility: Level 2

The new version of SFIA is now live.

View the SFIA 8 Levels of responsibility here. 


Works under routine direction. Uses limited discretion in resolving issues or enquiries. Works without frequent reference to others.


Interacts with and may influence immediate colleagues. May have some external contact with customers, suppliers and partners. May have more influence in own domain. Aware of need to collaborate with team and represent users/customer needs.


Performs a range of work activities in varied environments. May contribute to routine issue resolution.


Demonstrates application of essential generic knowledge typically found in industry bodies of knowledge. Has gained a basic domain knowledge. Absorbs new information when it is presented systematically and applies it effectively.

Business skills

Has sufficient communication skills for effective dialogue with customers, suppliers and partners.

Is able to work in a team. Is able to plan, schedule and monitor own work within short time horizons. Demonstrates a rational and organised approach to work.

Understands and uses appropriate methods, tools and applications.

Identifies and negotiates own development opportunities.

Is fully aware of and complies with essential organisational security practices expected of the individual.