The global skills and competency framework for the digital world

Levels of responsibility: Level 1

The new version of SFIA is now live.

View the SFIA 8 Levels of responsibility here. 


Works under supervision. Uses little discretion. Is expected to seek guidance in unexpected situations.


Minimal influence. May work alone, or interact with immediate colleagues.


Performs routine activities in a structured environment. Requires assistance in resolving unexpected problems.


Has a basic generic knowledge appropriate to area of work. Applies newly acquired knowledge to develop new skills. 

Business skills

Has sufficient communication skills for effective dialogue with others.

Demonstrates an organised approach to work.

Uses basic systems and tools, applications, and processes

Contributes to identifying own development opportunities.

Follows code of conduct, ethics and organisational standards. Is aware of health and safety issues.

Understands and applies basic personal security practice.